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Who must complete an application? 
 
A manufacturing distiller who operates a distilling facility located entirely in the state of Louisiana that produces less 
than four thousand (4,000) gallons of liquor or spirit annually at the distilling facility and holds an in-state liquor 
manufacturer's permit prior to engaging in the self-distribution of liquor or spirits to a retailer holding a Class A 
permit issued pursuant to R.S. 26:71.1 or 271.2, a Class B permit issued pursuant to R.S. 26:71 or 271, a Class C permit 
issued pursuant to R.S. 26:71.2 or 271.3, or a Type A, B, or C temporary alcoholic beverage permit issued pursuant 
to R.S. 26:793 must first hold a self-distribution permit with the ATC in accordance with La. R.S. 26:82.1.   
 

Permit Fees 
 

☐ $1,500.00 initial application and processing fee (non-refundable) 

☐ $1,500.00 annual renewal fee (non-refundable) 
 

Self-Distribution permit expires on December 31st and must be renewed annually. 
 

General Requirements 
 

1. Applicant must operate a distilling facility located in the State of Louisiana and hold a valid in-state liquor 

manufacturer (M-L) permit with the ATC.  

2. May not distribute annually more than four thousand (4000) gallon of liquor or spirits to all retailers. 

3. Own or lease warehouse space that is separate and segregated from the distillation facility.  

4. Own or lease delivery equipment (vehicle or car) dedicated for the primary use of distribution and delivery of only 

those products distilled and produced at the facility.  

5. Applicant does not have an existing distribution agreement with an alcohol wholesaler.  

6. Products shall be offered at the standard price to all retailers. 

7. Must comply with Liquor Credit Cash Laws.  

Where to submit application?  
 
Applications may be submitted to directly to ATC at any of ATC’s locations listed below or submitted online on 
ATC’s online portal. 
 

Baton Rouge Office 
7979 Independence Blvd. Suite 101 

Baton Rouge, LA 70806 
(225) 925-4041 

 
New Orleans Office 

1450 Poydras St., Suite 850 
New Orleans, LA 70112 

(504) 568-7028 

 
Lafayette Office 

200 Dulles Dr. 
Lafayette, LA 70506 

(337) 948-0346 
 

Monroe Office 
24 Accent Dr. Suite B600 

Monroe, LA 71203 
(318) 362-4285
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ONLINE APPLICATIONS may be submitted by visiting https://laatcabc.atc.la.gov/laatcprod/pub/Login.aspx. 
Note that prior to submitting application, applicant must register an account with the ATC. If applicant has registered 
an account and currently holds a beer manufacturer permit with the ATC, you may log into your account and start a 
new application for a self-distribution permit. 
 

Questions may be submitted directly to ATC-Attorneys@atc.la.gov. 
 

General Definitions – La .R.S. 26:2   
 

(10) "Distill, distilling, and distilled" means the process of producing liquor by distillation through one or more stills 
located at a licensed premises as part of a distiller's process of engaging in the material and essential aspects of 
manufacturing the distilled spirits for human consumption. 
 
(13) "Liquor" means all distilled or rectified alcoholic spirits, brandy, whiskey, rum, gin, and all similar distilled 
alcoholic beverages, including all dilutions and mixtures of one or more of the foregoing, such as liquors, cordials, 
and similar compounds. 
 
(16) "Liquor wholesaler" means any dealer who sells any alcoholic beverage to other licensed liquor wholesale dealers 
or to licensed retail liquor dealers in the state or who sells alcoholic beverages for delivery beyond the borders of the 
state in amounts to be fixed by the commissioner, or who imports any alcoholic beverages into the state, and who 
meets the standards set forth in this Chapter. 
 
(17)(a) "Manufacturer" means any person, other than a wine producer, who personally or through any agent whatever 
engages in the making, blending, rectifying, or processing of any alcoholic beverage in Louisiana; engages in the 
making, blending, rectifying, or processing of any alcoholic beverage outside Louisiana for sale in Louisiana; or 
engages in the business of supplying alcoholic beverages to licensed wholesale dealers in Louisiana. A manufacturer 
who engages in the making, blending, rectifying, or processing of any alcoholic beverage in a facility entirely located 
in the state of Louisiana may sell or serve only those products that are made, blended, rectified, or processed at that 
facility to the public only at that facility for consumption on or off the premises but not for resale. The total amount 
of such sales to the public for any given month shall not exceed one case per person for each thirty-day period. Any 
manufacturer who sells its products to the public pursuant to this Paragraph shall remit all state and parish or 
municipal sales and excise taxes to the proper tax collecting authority for all products sold to the public. A 
manufacturer who sells or serves its products to the public pursuant to this Paragraph shall comply with all local 
zoning laws and regulations. (b) Notwithstanding Subparagraph (a) of this Paragraph and R.S. 26:359(B), wine 
producers shall be considered manufacturers for the purposes of R.S. 26:348 and 354. 
 
(18) "Manufacturing distillery" or "manufacturing distiller" means any person who personally or through any agent 
engages in the distilling of any alcoholic beverage in Louisiana, engages in the distilling of any alcoholic beverage 
outside of Louisiana for sale in Louisiana, or engages in the business of supplying distilled alcoholic beverages to 
licensed wholesale dealers in Louisiana. 
 
(27) "Self-distribution" means distribution by a manufacturing distiller who operates a manufacturing distillery entirely 
located in the state of Louisiana to a retailer holding a Class A permit issued pursuant to R.S. 26:71.1, a Class B permit 
issued pursuant to R.S. 26:71, or a Class C permit issued pursuant to R.S. 26:71.2. 
 

https://laatcabc.atc.la.gov/laatcprod/pub/Login.aspx
mailto:ATC-Attorneys@atc.la.gov
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(31) "Supplier" means any person, other than a wine producer, who manufactures, makes, blends, rectifies, distills, 
processes, or purchases alcoholic beverages outside the state of Louisiana and imports, sells, offers for sale, solicits 
orders for sale, distributes, or delivers such alcoholic beverages in Louisiana. 

 

Self-Distribution Law – LA. R.S. 26:82.1 
 

A. Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, a manufacturing distiller who operates a manufacturing 
distillery located entirely in the state of Louisiana that produces less than four thousand gallons of distilled 
alcoholic liquors annually at the manufacturing distillery and holds both an in-state manufacturing distillery permit 
and a distillery self-distribution permit issued pursuant to R.S. 26:71 may self-distribute to a retailer holding a 
Class A permit issued pursuant to R.S. 26:71.1, a Class B permit issued pursuant to R.S. 26:71, or a Class C permit 
issued pursuant to R.S. 26:71.2. 

 
B. If a manufacturing distiller self-distributes to retailers, the following shall apply: 
 

(1) No more than four thousand gallons of distilled alcoholic liquors may be self-distributed to all retailers 
annually. 

 
(2) The distilled product shall be offered at a standard price to all retailers. 

 
C. A manufacturing distillery meeting the qualifications in Subsection A of this Section may obtain a permit to self-

distribute alcoholic liquors distilled at its manufacturing distillery under the following conditions: 
 

(1) The manufacturing distiller does not have an existing distribution agreement with a permitted wholesale 
dealer. 

 
(2) The manufacturing distiller owns or leases warehouse space that shall be maintained in a separate area 

from the distillation equipment. 
 

(3) The manufacturing distiller owns or leases delivery equipment dedicated for the primary use of distribution 
and delivery of only those products distilled at the manufacturing distillery. 

 
(4) The manufacturing distiller shall remit all excise and other applicable taxes on all alcoholic liquors distilled 

at its manufacturing distillery that are self-distributed. 
 

(5) The manufacturing distiller shall provide a monthly report of all sales from the manufacturing distillery 
and all sales from self-distribution to the office of alcohol and tobacco control. 

 
D. A manufacturing distiller may enter into a distribution agreement with a permitted wholesale dealer or make 

application for a self-distribution permit. However, no manufacturing distillery shall distribute through the 
permitted wholesale dealer and self-distribution. 

 
E. Any manufacturing distillery that engages in self-distribution shall be subject to LAC Title 55, Part VII. 
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Louisiana Administrative Code, Title 55, Part VII Alcohol and Tobacco Control 
LIQUOR CREDIT REGULATIONS 

 

Pursuant to R.S. 26:148 and Louisiana Liquor Credit Cash Regulations, self-distributors shall be subject to the same 
requirements and parameters imposed against wholesalers. Self-distributors are prohibited from distributing their 
products to any retailer not holding a valid and current retail dealer permit.  Retailers are required to immediately 
remit payment at the time of delivery of beer products. Any orders not paid upon delivery are prohibited. In the event, 
retailers submit a check and said check is returned (for any reason), self-distributors shall be required to submit 
monthly reports of such transactions on beer sold during the calendar month no later than the 20th day following the 
close of each month. If any retailer is subject to cash on delivery (COD) order, self-distributors shall only be permitted 
to accept cash upon delivery. Acceptance of checks shall be prohibited. See below relevant rules related to Beer Cash 
Violations.  
 

Weekly reports shall be submitted online by visiting https://atc.louisiana.gov/resources/wholesaler-portal/  
 
LA. R.S. 26: 148. Form of payment; timely payment; penalty for violation 
 
A. No manufacturer or wholesale dealer shall sell, offer to sell, or deliver any alcoholic beverage to any retail dealer 

in this state, and no retail dealer in alcoholic beverages shall buy or accept delivery for any such beverage, for any 
consideration other than cash or on terms requiring payment not later than the fifteenth day following that on 
which actual delivery is made, or by credit card payment where the credit card discount fees or merchant fees are 
added to the cost of the transaction as a convenience fee and the fees are paid by the retailer. If any payment is 
not made punctually when due, the vendor shall immediately notify the commissioner thereof and the 
commissioner shall promptly notify all manufacturers and wholesale dealers in the state of the default and 
thereafter no person shall sell any alcoholic beverage to the retailer in default on any other terms than cash delivery, 
until otherwise authorized by the commissioner. Under penalty of suspension of his permit, the retailer who is in 
default shall pay his obligation in full within thirty days from the date it became due. 

 
B. Whoever violates this Section may have his license suspended for not more than five days for the first offense 

and not more than thirty days for a subsequent offense. Each failure of a retail dealer to make payment for any 
default before the expiration of the period of suspension constitutes a subsequent offense. In addition, the retail 
dealer may be required to make payment in cash for all alcoholic beverages subsequently sold or delivered to him.              

 
C. The commissioner shall make and publish rules and regulations for the enforcement of this Section. 
 
Louisiana Administrative Code, Title 55 Section §301.- Regulation I―Liquor Credit Law 
 
A. Every delivery of liquor to retail dealers shall be accompanied by an invoice of sale showing the name of the retail 

dealer, his trade name and permit number, and the date of the invoice which shall be the date of actual delivery. 
 

B. Manufacturers and wholesale dealers shall on each Monday morning mail to the commissioner, on a form 
prescribed by him, delinquent reports containing all of the information called for on said report. 

 

https://atc.louisiana.gov/resources/wholesaler-portal/
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C. The dealers required to be reported as delinquent are those whose accounts were delinquent as of 7 p.m. Sunday 
preceding the date of the report. 

 
D. Delinquent retail dealers who pay their deficiency in full by Monday mornings are not to be included on the 

delinquent reports of that day. 
 
E. Delinquents are to be reported each Monday morning until their accounts have been paid in full. 
 
F. When collections are made from delinquent retail dealers before the expiration of their credit period, but too late 

to be processed on the wholesaler's or manufacturer's books and included on their delinquent report, provided 
an affidavit, on a sample form to be furnished by the commissioner, is executed by the person receiving the 
payment, which affidavit is to be retained by the wholesaler or manufacturer. 

 
G. Delinquent reports shall name all outlets and package houses owned or operated by the delinquent retail dealer. 
 
H. When manufacturers and wholesale dealers are not open for business on Mondays, reports shall be submitted on 

the last working day prior thereto, unless notified to the contrary by the commissioner. 
 
I. Triplicate copies of delinquent reports are to be made by manufacturers and wholesale dealers, the original of 

which is to be sent to the commissioner at Baton Rouge, one to the delinquent retail dealer and one to be retained 
by the wholesale dealer or manufacturer. 

 
J. No sale of liquor, except for cash (currency or silver), shall be made to a delinquent retail dealer on or after the 

date a list containing his name has been published by the commissioner. 
 
K. A retail dealer shall remain in default of credit until a list on which his name does not appear has been published 

by the commissioner, or manufacturers and wholesale dealers are notified to the contrary by the commissioner. 
 
L. Any liquor salesman and/or any wholesale liquor dealer who, either individually or collectively, coerces, or 

conspires with, any retail liquor dealer to purchase alcoholic beverages on any terms other than those permitted 
under R.S. 26:159 and these regulations shall subject said liquor salesman, and/or said retail or wholesale liquor 
dealer to a hearing with possible suspension of permit or permits for violation of Title 26 of the Revised Statutes 
of 1950, as amended, and these regulations. 

M. Any permittee who remains in default over a period of 30 days, may be called to a hearing by the commissioner 
to either suspend his permit or be placed on a permanent cash basis, or both; and in the event the commissioner 
places any permittee on a cash basis, all wholesale dealers shall be notified thereof in writing, and after the receipt 
of such notice, no dealer shall sell, offer to sell, or deliver any alcoholic beverages for any consideration other than 
cash until otherwise advised in writing by the commissioner. 
 

N. Any permittee placed on a permanent cash basis by order of the commissioner may request rescission of the order 
by petitioning the commissioner in writing for a rehearing and the commissioner may rescind his order upon the 
permittee satisfying the commissioner of his financial responsibility to carry on his business on a credit basis. 
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Office Use Only:  

 

NOTICE TO APPLICANT: Misstatement or suppression of material facts in this application is GROUNDS FOR DENIAL of this 
application. Additionally, filing false public records is a violation of Louisiana Revised Statute 14:133 and may result in imprisonment 
for not more than five (5) years with or without hard labor and/or fines of not more than $5000.00. 
 

PART I. OWNER’S INFORMATION 

1. Type of Ownership: 
☐   Individual       ☐  Corporation       ☐  Limited Liability Company        ☐   Partnership        ☐   Other _______________ 

2. Owner/Entity Legal Name: (Name of individual or LLC or Corp.) 3. State of Domicile: 

4. Trade Name (DBA):  
 
5. Business Physical Address: (Street Number, City, State, Zip Code) 

 
 
6. Mailing Address: (If different than business address)   
 
7. Business Email Address: 8. Business Contact Number: 

 

9. Federal Employee Identification No. (FEIN): 
 

10. Louisiana State Identification No: 

11. Does Business consent to receive ATC communications, administrative notices, and/or administrative 
decisions in electronic format via email? 

 
If “YES” – list email address: ______________________________________________________ 
 

 

☐ YES  ☐ NO 
 

 

PART II. OWNERSHIP/CORPORATE STRUCTURE 

If the applicant is not an individual (sole proprietorship), list the name, title, and percentage of ownership of each person. All 
*partners, stockholders, officers, directors, members, and/or any person owning more than 5% must submit suitability documents 

including Schedule A (SA-01), Schedule F (SA-02), and fingerprints with authorization form.   If multiple entities, attach 

organizational chart. 

 

*EACH PERSON listed below shall be required to submit a completed Schedule A, F and Fingerprint form* 

 
Name of Individual  SSN Type of interest ** % of Interest 
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Management Information 

12. Is applicant’s business to be conducted wholly or partly by one or more managers or other 
representatives? If YES, each person must submit a completed Schedule A and Schedule F, if 
applicable. If Yes, Complete Below. 

☐ YES      ☐ NO 

Manager’s Full Name Title 

  
  

 

PART III. MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS  

13. Does Applicant hold a current and valid in-state Liquor Manufacturer (M-L) permit? If No, provide 
date of application submitted.   
 
Date of Application: _______________________________________________________ 
 
Permit Number: ___________________________________________________________ 
 

☐ YES      ☐ NO 

14. Does Applicant intend to self-distribute to other retailers?  ☐ YES      ☐ NO 
15. Does Applicant produce liquor through one or more stills located in the manufacturing facility as part of 

the process of engaging in the material and essential aspects of manufacturing such distilled spirit for 
human consumption?  

☐ YES      ☐ NO 

16. Does Applicant operate a manufacturing facility located entirely in the State of Louisiana that produces 
less than four thousand (4000) gallons of distilled alcoholic liquors annually at the distilling facility? 

☐ YES      ☐ NO 

17. Does Applicant understand that distiller must maintain all records and invoices of products self-
distributed to retailers and made available to the ATC upon request? 

☐ YES      ☐ NO 

18. Does Applicant understand that distiller may not self-distribute more than four thousand (4000) gallons 
of distilled alcoholic liquors per year?   

☐ YES      ☐ NO 

19. Does Applicant understand any products intended for self-distribution must be offered at a standard 
price to ALL retailers?  

☐ YES      ☐ NO 

20. Does Applicant have an existing distribution agreement with a Louisiana permitted wholesale dealer?  ☐ YES      ☐ NO 
 

PART IV. WAREHOUSE AND DELIVERY EQUIPMENT 

21. Does Applicant own or lease warehouse space that shall be maintained separate & segregated from the 
distillation equipment?   

☐ YES      ☐ NO 

22. Provide the address of the warehouse space or provide explanation of how products shall be separated 
and segregated from the brewing facility. 

 
 
 
 
 

 

23. Does distiller own or lease delivery equipment dedicated for the primary use of distribution and 
delivery of only those products distilled at its manufacturing distillery facility? Attach proof of vehicle 
delivery equipment.  

☐ YES      ☐ NO 

24. Does Applicant understand that manufacturing distiller shall be required to submit monthly reports to 
ATC of all sales from self-distribution? Monthly reports shall be due on or before the 15th day of the 
month.  

☐ YES      ☐ NO 

25. Does Applicant understand that any manufacturing distiller that engages in self-distribution shall be 
subject to Louisiana Administrative Code, Title 55, Part VII Alcohol and Tobacco Control? 

☐ YES      ☐ NO 

26. Does Applicant understand that all sales of liquor products to retailers are subject to Liquor Credit 
Laws? Retailers are required to pay for all liquor products within 15 days of delivery and Distiller is 
required to submit weekly and monthly report of any delinquencies. For additional information related 
to Cash or Credit Laws, see Louisiana Administrative Code, Title 55, Part VII. 

☐ YES      ☐ NO 

 

NOTE: Initial application fee is $1500.00. Self-distribution permits expires December 31st and shall be required to be renewed 

annually, unless otherwise approved for 2 year renewal.  
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PART VI - REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION 

The following documentation must be submitted with the application. Failure to provide all required documents may significantly delay 
the processing time and may result in the withholding or denial of the application.  
 

1. If applicant previously entered into a distribution contract with a distributor, provide proof the distribution contract has been 
terminated. A letter or documentation dated from wholesaler terminating agreement may be submitted as proof.  

2. Proof of ownership or lease of delivery equipment dedicated for the primary use of distribution and delivery of only those 
products. Proof may include lease agreement of vehicle or proof of ownership solely issued to applicant may be submitted.   

3. Provide a copy of lease or proof of ownership of warehouse space and diagram of space. Space must be segregated and 
separate from distillation equipment.  

 

 

APPLICATION FEES 

☐    Self-Distribution Permit for Beer/Malt Beverages – Application fee $1500.00 

 

**Only Personal/Business checks, cashier check, money order, or Credit Cards accepted. NO REFUNDS** 

W
A

R
N

IN
G

 If Applicant is: Must Sign Application: 

Individual /Sole Proprietor Individual Owner 
Partnership Any Partner 
Limited Liability Company (LLC) Managing member, member, officer, director 
Corporation Officer, Director 

 

Application Affidavit 

BY SIGNING BELOW, YOU ARE SWEARING, UNDER OATH, that you have read each of the questions in this application  and 

that all answers are true and correct to the best of your knowledge, that you meet all the qualifications and conditions as set forth under 

La. R.S. 26:80 and 26:280; that you have complied with the notice requirements contained in La. R.S. 26:77 and 26:277; and that you 

have no interest in any business that holds a retail or wholesaler’s license issued by the Louisiana Office of Alcohol and Tobacco 

Control. I also swear (or affirm) that this applicant (except as provided in R.S. 26:85) holds no interest either directly or indirectly in 

an alcohol retail or wholesale permit other than the type applied for in this application. Applicant understands that his/her is responsible 

to understand and maintain the requirements related to self-distribution and all alcohol laws applicable to applicant’s business. 

 
___________________________________________________           __________________________________________ 
Print Name (By Authorized Person Only)         Signature of Authorized Person 
 
 
_______________________              _______________________________ 
Title               Date 
 

Notary Use Only 

 

Sworn to and subscribed to me on this ________day of ____________, 20______,  

in the parish/county of ___________________________________, State of ________________________________ 

 

___________________________              _________________________________ 

                                                     Name of Notary Public                                           Signature of Notary Public  
 

Office Use 

Only 
Process by & Date Permitted by & date Approval By & Date: 

 
 



Louisiana Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control 

7979 Independence Blvd. Suite 101 

Baton Rouge, LA 70806 
 

Liquor Self-Distribution Monthly Report (05/23) 

 

Monthly Report of all sales from the distilling facility and all 

sales from self-distribution of liquor from the distilling facility. 

Filing period shall begin with first through the last day of the 

month preceding the submission date.  
   

Owner Name/Permittee Primary Location Address ATC permit no. Filing Start Date 

(MM/DD/YY) 

Trade/Premise Name (DBA) 

 

1. Provide the total amount of Liquor by gallonage produced at the distilling facility for the filing period.  

2. Provide the total amount of sales conducted from the distilling facility for the filing period.  

3. Provide the total amount of sales from self-distribution from distilling facility for the filing period.   

 

I attest that the total amount liquor produced at this distilling facility and the total amount of liquor self-distributed from this distilling facility does 

not exceed more than four thousand (4000) gallons annually.  

 

I attest that I am an authorized representative of the licensee and that the information provided is true and accurate. I understand that the submission 

of this report is subject to La. R.S. 26:84 & 282.  

 

Reports must be submitted directly to the ATC:   By Mail: 7979 Independence Blvd. Suite 101, Baton Rouge, LA 70806 

       By Email: ATC-Attorneys@atc.la.gov 

 

 

_________________________________________ __________________________________________  __________________ 

Print Name & Title     Signature       Date 

 

Self Distribution of Liquor Products by 
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