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VAPOR PRODUCT MANUFACTURER OR ALTERNATIVE NICOTINE PRODUCT MANUFACTURER 

PRODUCT CERTIFACATION  

 

VAPE & ALTERNATIVE NICOTINE DIRECTORY (“Vape Directory”) 

 

Beginning October 1, 2023, Vape and Alternative Nicotine Product Manufacturers shall be required to certify on a form 

prescribed by commissioner, each vape or alternative nicotine products meets the criteria set forth by La. R.S. 26:926. 

Products certified with ATC shall be published in ATC’s Vape and Alternative Nicotine Product Directory (hereinafter 

“Directory”). The directory will be published on ATC’s website, www.atc.louisiana.gov and emailed to all tobacco 

manufacturers, wholesalers, and retail dealers on or before November 1, 2023. Periodical and monthly notifications shall 

delivered in same manner.  

 

WHO MUST COMPLETE CERTIFICATION FORM? 

 
Vapor Product Manufacturer and Alternative Nicotine Product Manufacturer whose products are sold in Louisiana, 

whether directly or indirectly or through a wholesale dealer, retail dealer, or similar intermediary or intermediaries shall 

be required to complete and execute the product certification form.  

 
 

FEES 
 

Initial Certification Fee: $100 per product SKU  

Annual Renewal Certification: $100 per product SKU  

 
Any product approved for publication on ATC Vape Directory shall be required to be recertified within 60 prior to 

October 31st of each year.  

 
 

DEFINITIONS 

 
For a full listing of all definition related to Louisiana Tobacco Laws, please see R.S. 26:901 et. seq. 

 

"ALTERNATIVE NICOTINE PRODUCT" means any non-combustible product containing nicotine that is intended 

for human consumption, whether chewed, absorbed, dissolved, or ingested by any other means. "Alternative nicotine 

product" does not include any of the following: 

 

            (a) Tobacco product. 

            (b) Vapor product. 

            (c) Product that is a drug pursuant to 21 U.S.C. 321(g)(1). 

            (d) Device pursuant to 21 U.S.C. 321(h). 

            (e) Combination product described in 21 U.S.C. 353(g). 

 

"DEALER" includes every person who manufactures or purchases cigars, cigarettes, or other tobacco products for 

distribution or resale in this state. The term also means any person who imports cigars, cigarettes, or other tobacco 

products from any state or foreign country for distribution, sale, or consumption in this state. 

 

“MANUFACTURER” means anyone engaged in the manufacture, production, or foreign importation of tobacco 

products, vapor products, and alternative nicotine who sells to wholesalers. 

 

http://www.atc.louisiana.gov/
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DEFINITIONS 
“RETAIL DEALER” includes every dealer other than a wholesale dealer or manufacturer who sells or offers for sale 

cigars, cigarettes, other tobacco products, alternative nicotine products, or vapor products, irrespective of quantity or 

the number of sales. If any person is engaged in the business of making sales at both retail and wholesale, “retailer” 

shall apply only to the retail portion of the business. 

 

“SALE" or "SELL" means any transfer, exchange, or barter in any manner or by any means for any consideration. 

The term shall include distributing or shipping product in connection with a sale. References to a sale "in" or "into" a 

state refer to the state of the destination point of the product in the sale, without regard to where title was transferred. 

References to sale "from" a state refer to the sale of cigarettes that are located in that state to the destination in question 

without regard to where title was transferred. 

 

"STAMP" means the impression, device, stamp, label, or print manufactured or printed as prescribed by the secretary 

by the use of which the tax levied hereunder is paid. By way of extension, and not limitation, the term "stamp" means 

any impression or character affixed to or which shall be stamped upon commodities by metered stamping machine or 

device by use of which the tax levied hereunder is paid. 

 

"STAMPING AGENT" means a dealer that is authorized to affix tax stamps to packages or other containers of 

cigarettes under R.S. 47:843 et seq. or any dealer that is required to pay the excise tax or tobacco tax imposed pursuant 

to R.S. 47:841 et seq. on cigarettes. 

  

"VAPOR PRODUCT" means any non-combustible product containing nicotine or other substances that employs a 

heating element, power source, electronic circuit, or other electronic, chemical or mechanical means, regardless of 

shape or size, that can be used to produce vapor from nicotine or other substances. "Vapor product" includes any 

electronic cigarette, electronic cigar, electronic cigarillo, electronic pipe, or similar product or device and any vapor 

cartridge or other container of nicotine in a solution or other form that is intended to be used with or in an electronic 

cigarette, electronic cigar, electronic cigarillo, electronic pipe, or similar product or device. "Vapor product" does not 

include any of the following: 

 

            (a) Product that is a drug pursuant to 21 U.S.C. 321(g)(1). 

            (b) Device pursuant to 21 U.S.C. 321(h). 

            (c) Combination product described in 21 U.S.C. 353(g). 

 

"WHOLESALE DEALER" means a dealer whose principal business is that of a wholesaler, who sells cigarettes, 

cigars, other tobacco products, vapor products, or alternative nicotine products to retail dealers for the purpose of 

resale, who is a bona fide wholesaler, and fifty percent of whose total tobacco, vapor, and alternative nicotine sales are 

to retail stores other than its own or those of its subsidiaries or parent companies within Louisiana. Wholesale dealer 

shall include any person in the state who acquires cigarettes solely for the purpose of resale in vending machines, 

provided such person services fifty or more cigarette vending machines in Louisiana other than his own, and a 

Louisiana dealer who was affixing cigarette and tobacco stamps as of January 1, 1974. If any person is engaged in the 

business of making sales at both wholesale and retail, "wholesaler" shall apply only to the wholesale portion of the 

business. 
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WHAT TYPE OF VAPE OR ALTERNATIVE NICOTINE PRODUCT WILL BE APPROVED?  

 
1. Products on the U.S. Market as of August 8, 2016 that has applied for a premarket tobacco order (“PMTA”) 

pursuant to federal law and the PMTA remains under review by the FDA; or 
 

2. Any vapor products or alternative nicotine products on the U.S. Market that the FDA has issued a no marketing order, 

but the agency or federal court has issued a stay order or injunction during the pendency of the manufacturer’s appeal 

or the order has been appealed and remains pending; or 
 

3. The manufacturer has received a marketing order or other authorization under federal law for the vapor or alternative 

nicotine product from FDA; or  
 

4. Notwithstanding R.S. 26:926A, commissioner may approve a vape or alternative nicotine product without PMTA if 

a manufacturer can demonstrate to commissioner that the FDA has issued a rule, guidance, or any other formal 

statement that temporarily exempts product from federal premarket tobacco application requirements and provide 

sufficient evidence that the product is compliant with federal rule, guidance, or other formal statements.  
 

 

VIOLATION & PENALTIES  

 

R.S. 26:926H – a vapor product manufacturer or alternative nicotine product manufacturer who offers for sale a vapor 

product or alternative nicotine product not listed on the directory is subject to a $1000 daily fine for each vapor or 

alternative nicotine product offered for sale in violation this law until the offending product is removed from the market 

or until the offending product is properly listed on the directory.  

 

R.S. 26:926I – No wholesale dealer or retail dealer shall be permitted to remit tax with respect to a vapor product or 

alternative nicotine product unless such vapor product or alternative nicotine product is listed on the directory, and the 

sale, possession, or transportation of such vapor products or alternative nicotine products by any person shall be subject 

to provisions of R.S. 47:858, 859, and 860 as if such wholesale dealer did not possess a valid permit.  

 

R.S. 26:926J – Any other violation of R.S. 26:926 shall result in a fine of five hundred dollars ($500) per offense.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 




